Faculty member Marianne Boruch has been named a finalist for Claremont Graduate University’s Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, for her book The Book of Hours (2011, Copper Canyon Press).


The $100,000 Award is given annually for a book by a poet who is past the very beginning but has not yet reached the pinnacle of his or her career. Past winners include current and former faculty members Rodney Jones (2007), Michael Ryan (2005), Linda Gregerson (2003), Carl Phillips (2002), Alan Shapiro (2001), and Tom Lux (1995).

Alumna Heidy Steidlmayer (poetry, ’00), recent winner of the Zacharis Award and of a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award, has been named one of three finalists for the Kate Tufts Discovery Award, for her first book Fowling Piece: Poems (Triquarterly) (2012, Triquarterly).


The $10,000 Kate Tufts Discovery Award is presented annually for a first book by a poet of genuine promise. Past winners include alumna Adrian Blevins (poetry, ’02).

“Winners will be announced in March and recognized during a ceremony at Claremont Graduate University in April.” For more information, visit the University’s website.

%d bloggers like this: