January 2018 Faculty Announced

The MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College is delighted to announce the faculty for its winter 2018 semester:

Debra Allbery (Director)

Lesley Nneka Arimah

Dean Bakopoulos

Marianne Boruch

Robert Boswell

Gabrielle Calvocoressi

Daisy Fried

Jeremy Gavron

David Haynes

C.J. Hribal

Christine Kitano

Dana Levin

Maurice Manning

Nina McConigley

Matthew Olzmann

Antonya Nelson

Michael Parker

Martha Rhodes

Marisa Silver

Bennett Sims

Dominic Smith

Anna Solomon

Megan Staffel

Daniel Tobin

Ellen Bryant Voigt

Connie Voisine

Alan Williamson


Welcome (Back) Trish Marshall

Welcome (Back) Trish Marshall

The MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College is delighted to announce that one of its alumni, Trish Marshall (poetry, ’17) will return as its new MFA Project Manager: Academic Affairs.  Her office expertise, knowledge of MFA practices and policies, and abiding passion for the program will all be invaluable assets in this role. Trish will join the office team on September 12.

Pictured: Trish and her fellow Project Manager, Caleb.

Time for Updates to the Alumni Bibliography

Time for Updates to the Alumni Bibliography

The program website includes a link to a bibliography of all alumni book publications of which the program is aware, currently well over 700 books:


Please help us keep this list as complete as possible by uploading your new publication information through a form on the site:


The form will ask for your:

  1. first name, last name,
  2. the year in which you graduated,
  3. the genre in which you graduated, fiction or poetry,
  4. whether you graduated from Warren Wilson or Goddard,
  5. the title of your book,
  6. the name of your publisher,
  7. year of publication, and
  8. specify novel, short fiction, novella, book of poems, chapbook, anthology, translated poetry, translated fiction, or “other” (explain).

Please also share any additional information regarding awards the publication received. And thank you for helping us to keep the bibliography as up-to-date as possible.

Thank you for helping to maintain the bibliography, which is one of the resources that attracts new writers to the program.

Patrick Donnelly


The 40th Anniversary Reading Podcast!

The 40th Anniversary Reading Podcast!


Episode 150: 40th Anniversary Reading from the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College

(Warren Wilson MFA Faculty and Alumni) Founded in 1976 by Ellen Bryant Voigt as the nation’s first low-residency program, the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College has counted some of the country’s finest poets and fiction writers among its faculty and graduates. Continuing a tradition started by the program at Malaprop’s Bookstore in Asheville, NC—The Fastest Reading in the World—hour readers will be joined by other Warren Wilson MFA faculty and alumni in attendance to celebrate four decades of literary achievement.

Recorded in Los Angeles, April 1, 2016

Published Date: July 19, 2017

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Short bios of our faculty and alumni readers:

(Pronunciation guide available upon request!)(jk/lol)