The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced the names of 20 writers who will receive its 2014 awards in literature. The awards will be presented in New York in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The literature prizes, totaling $230,000, honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The Academy’s 250 members nominate candidates, and a rotating committee of writers selects winners. This year’s committee members were Louis Begley, Louise Glück, Alison Lurie, Francine Prose, Mark Strand and Charles Wright.

An Arts and Letters Award in Literature, honoring exceptional accomplishment in any genre, has been awarded to James Longenbach;

A one year residency in the American Academy in Rome, the Rome Fellowship in Literature, has been awarded to alumna Krys Lee (fiction, ’08);

The Arthur Rense Poetry Prize, given triennially to an exceptional poet, has been awarded to Ellen Bryant Voigt.

Congratulations to all the award winners!


%d bloggers like this: