BBoES Jamaal MayAlum Jamaal May’s (poetry, ’11) collection The Big Book of Exit Strategies was released by Alice James books in April.


Alum Robin Black’s (fiction, ’05) new book Crash Course: Essays from Where Writing and Life Collide was published by Engine Books in April.


Alum Chiyuma Elliott (poetry, ’10)’s collection California Winter League has Elliott-California-Winter-League-largebeen released by Unicorn Press.


Alum Karen Olsson’s (fiction, ’05)  novel All the Houses has been released by Farrar, Strauss & Giroux.


8705121_origAlum Leslie Contreras Schwartz’s (poetry, ’11) new collection FUEGO was published by St Julian Press in March.


All the News I Need by alum Joan Frank (fiction, ’96) won the 2016 Juniper Prize for Fiction, a literary prize series coordinated by the University of Massachusetts Press. The novel is slated for publication in 2017.


Alum Christine Hale’s (fiction, ’96) new book A Piece of Sky, A Grain 9781627201018-PieceofSky-COV.inddof Rice: A Memoir in Four Meditations is forthcoming from Apprentice House Press in July.


Alum Jennifer Sperry Steinorth (poetry, ’15) won the 2016 Writers @ Work Poetry Fellowship.


Faculty member Brooks Haxton’s poem “The Arctic Vortex at Snooks Pond, 2014”  was published in PloughsharesSpring 2016 issue.


A_scrap_of_linen_coverAlum Ginger Murchison’s (poetry, ’09) collection a scrap of linen, a bone has been released by Press 53. One of the poems, “Roller Coaster,” was on Garrison Keillor’s “Writer’s Almanac” on April 14, and “The East Berliner, 1989” will be featured on May 6.


Faculty member Debra Spark’s essay “Jump Already” (based on her lecture delivered at the July 2015 residency) was published in the May/Summer 2016 issue of the AWP Chronicle.


Alum Beverley Bie Brahic’s (poetry, ’06) new collection Hunting the Boar was released by CB Editions in May. The UK Poetry Book Society (founded by T.S. Eliot) has selected it as one of its Summer 2016 Recommendations.

Alum Kate Murr (poetry, ’16) was a finalist for the 2016 Tupelo Sunken Garden Chapbook Award.

%d bloggers like this: