The MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College

Class of July 2017:

Mark Elber (poetry)

Esme Franklin (poetry)

Sarah Gauch (fiction)

Amy Lin (fiction)

Leigh Lucas (poetry)

Trish Marshall (poetry)

Micah Matthews (fiction)

Amanda Newell (poetry)

Tiana Nobile (poetry)

Laura Otis (fiction)

Andrew Peterson (fiction)

Maya Phillips (poetry)

Blake Reemstma (poetry)

Susan Jo Russell (poetry)

David Saltzman (fiction)

Nomi Stone (poetry)

Peter Schireson (poetry)



Our program will once again have a table at the AWP Conference. This year’s gathering will be held in Washington DC. The Bookfair is open Thursday, February 9 to Saturday, February 11. We seek volunteers, in one- or two-hour shifts, to answer questions from prospective students and to talk about their experience in our MFA program

If you’re coming to AWP and are able to donate some of your time toward staffing our table, please contact Warren Wilson alum Noah Stetzer (poetry, July 2014) at [email protected] by January 31 with specifics about your availability. Noah will coordinate the schedule, and will be back in touch with you to confirm.

Our thanks in advance for your assistance. As one of our recent print ads stated: “Our graduates are our best advertisement.” Your many successes, and your abiding enthusiasm for our program provide impressive evidence of what the Warren Wilson MFA yields and makes possible for your lives as writers.

Through her kindness and a great gift for friendship, Carlen Arnett embodied the spirit of the Warren Wilson/Goddard community. She passed away this week at her home in St. Paul. Carlen graduated in poetry in January 1993, and in recent years had been working on a novel, THE ROBBER GIRL.

Carlen befriended alums and faculty from every generation in the program’s history, from the Goddard years, through the most recent Warren Wilson class of July 2016. She was a fixture at the annual alumni conference and had a talent for connecting our community through social media.

On a personal note, blogging can sometimes be a lonely endeavor, but rarely did a day pass without Carlen sharing a post or liking it on her social networks. She was proud of her peers and enjoyed sharing your accomplishments with others.

Read Poems by Carlen at DRUNKEN BOAT

Friends of Writers and the MFA program would like to congratulate the July 2015 graduates:

Rose Auslander (poetry)

Anu Bharadwaj (fiction)

Noah Friedman (poetry)

Cynthia Gunadi (fiction)

Leslie Koffler (fiction)

Nathaniel Krause (fiction)

Catherine Meeks (fiction)

Sumita Mukherji (fiction)

Heather Muller (fiction)

Cynthia Saunders Quiñones (poetry)

Rachele Ryan (fiction)

Karen Smyte (fiction)

Sarah Pemberton Strong  (poetry)

Lesley Valdes  (poetry)



It’s that time of year again: updates will be added to the Alumni Bibliography (which currently lists 600+ alum publications). Please email Patrick Donnelly (poetry, ’03) about any of your recent book publications.

Include, in this order please:
your full name,
the genre and year in which you graduated,
the name of your book,
the name of your publisher,
year of publication,
information about any awards the book received, and
specify genre: poems, novel, short fiction, nonfiction, essays, translations, etc. You may also include books such as anthologies that you have edited or co-edited.

Please send updates to [email protected] with ALUMNI BIBLIOGRAPHY in the subject line. If you know of publications by alumni who are not on the list, please encourage them to get in touch or send what information you have.

The alumni bibliography (currently updated twice a year) is accessible from a link on the WWC MFA website:

If you are unsure whether your new publication is already included in the bibliography, please check it before sending the information. If your book is “forthcoming” in more than six months, hold the info until the book is out—requests for updates are solicited twice a year.

Friends of Writers and the MFA program would like to congratulate the January 2015 graduates:

David Cherry (Poetry)

Fay Dillof (Poetry)

Avra Elliott (Fiction)

Jennifer Givhan (Poetry)

Abby Horowitz (Fiction)

Paul Howe (Poetry)

Adam Jernigan (Fiction)

Kimberly Kruge (Poetry)

Ann Lovett (Poetry)

Laura Moretz (Fiction)

Marta Rose (Fiction)

Michael Sharick (Fiction)

Jennifer Steinorth (Poetry)

Kevin Wheeler (Fiction)


Frank and Ida D'Amico

Frank and Ida D’Amico

Thanks to the generosity of 2013 fiction alumna Lynette D’Amico, Friends of Writers is proud to announce a new scholarship opportunity for Warren Wilson MFA students: the Frank and Ida D’Amico Scholarship, which will support room and board and other residency fees for need-based students, with priority given to students age 50 or older. “School (and food) were priorities in my family, and I can think of no better way to honor the memory of my parents, than with a scholarship in their names to commemorate their generosity of heart and table,” says D’Amico. “As I benefited so much from the generosity of others during my time at Warren Wilson, I think the prospect of helping students would make Frank and Ida happy. This scholarship is also a reminder of how much they were loved.”

The Frank and Ida D’Amico Scholarship will join the Barnhardt Family Fund, established by the family of faculty member Wilton Barnhardt, and the new Holden Opportunity Grants for students of color, as sources of support to cover residency costs for eligible students.

The first D’Amico Scholarship will be awarded in July 2015. Friends of Writers and the MFA Program at Warren Wilson are deeply grateful for this new source of support.